News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting Use animator of child object

This topic contains 19 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Hoju 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

Hoju
    Participant

I’m creating a game for a group school project using a combination of 2D and 3D. My colliders are all 3D on the parent object but are using the animator and sprite renderer of a child object. This is so that the collider is moving in the Y axis while the sprites face the Z axis. So far I’ve been able to get everything in RAIN to work correctly except the animations through mecanim. I’ve narrowed it down to the fact that RAIN is only looking for the animator on the parent object and not the children. The AI object is a child of the child with the sprite renderer and animator.

How do I get RAIN to look for the animator on the child object?

Let me also say that I am a complete novice at coding. I am a game artist but for this group class need to do all the code. I am new but trying to learn so if coding is required I will do my best to follow along.

prime
    Keymaster

Just to be clear on this - when you say “animator” you mean a Mecanim Animator? Not a legacy Animation component?

Hoju
    Participant

Correct.

prime
    Keymaster

I’ll throw together a script and post it here. It will be a Custom AI Element that you can add to your AI to resolve the issue. You should be able to use it to create a new script file in your project. The Custom tab of the AI will update automatically, and then you can select the new element to add it. That easy. Look for it late today.

Hoju
    Participant

That would be awesome! Thank you Prime.

prime
    Keymaster