News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting Problems getting ref to Player detected

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  prime 3 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

forbidden
    Participant

Hello All,
    I am new to Rain AI, but I got all the basic stuff working..
    Ai walking around, able to detect a player and chase them etc..

Now, I am having a problem though getting the plays position or transform.
    I want to shoot a projectile at the player, but so far no luck..

My script is below, my playerposition is always zero.
    any help would be appreciated.

public override ActionResult Execute(RAIN.Core.AI ai)
        {
    			Debug.Log ("attack");
    			//get enemy position..
    			Vector3 EnemyPosition = new Vector3(ai.Kinematic.Position.x, ai.Kinematic.Position.y,ai.Kinematic.Position.z);
    			Vector3 PlayerPostion = ai.WorkingMemory.GetItem<Vector3>("varPlayer");
    			Debug.Log(PlayerPostion);
            return ActionResult.SUCCESS;
        }
    • This topic was modified 3 months, 2 weeks ago by  forbidden.
    • This topic was modified 3 months, 2 weeks ago by  forbidden.

forbidden
    Participant

I figured it out…

RAIN.Entities.Aspects.RAINAspect PlayerA= ai.WorkingMemory.GetItem<RAIN.Entities.Aspects.RAINAspect >("varPlayerAspect");
    		    Debug.Log(PlayerA.Position);

I had to set the aspect variable..

forbidden
    Participant

Having problems getting transform rotation.

prime
    Keymaster

Here’s a helpful trick. Often times you need to get the position of an object in memory, but you don’t know (or care to know) what the type of the object is (e.g., game object, aspect, vector3).

You can do this:

//see the API docs or just look at the method signature - there are two additional optional parameters
    MoveLookTarget tTarget = MoveLookTarget.GetMoveLookTargetFromVariable(ai.WorkingMemory, "variableName");