News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting Making AI use navmesh

Tagged: 

This topic contains 12 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  jheysonlima 1 year, 8 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

Destructicorn
    Participant

I’m just starting out using RAIN and I’ve already run into an issue. I can’t seem to get my AI to use the Navmesh. I have an AI that I want to move to a point and there is an obstacle in the way. I generated the navmesh the same as the tutorial video but my AI just keeps moving forward and bumps into the obstacle and never attempts to move around. My behavior tree is just a simple move node.

I’m sure there is something simple I’m doing wrong. Is there some setting I have to set so that my AI uses the navmesh?

Chris
    Participant

Does the NavMesh recognize the obstacle? Is there a hole in the NavMesh where the obstacle is?

Destructicorn
    Participant

Yeah, here’s a screen shot of what I have. The lone cub is my AI.

Navmesh

kikrim
    Participant

I also have the same problem. After uprage i can’t find how to make the AI use the NavMesh.

kikrim
    Participant

I have two Objects.
    1. Has Aspect Visual
    2. Has simple BehaviourTree with detect, and move.Also RigidBody(with default configuration) Sphere Collider.
    When collider has biger radious than 0.5 object don’t use navMesh.
    Why ?I don’t have idea. Can anyone help ?

jheysonlima
    Participant

I have the same problem too… it was working fine before the update, now the AI ignores the navmesh and keeps hitting on the obstacles… the navmesh is right I guess, there are holes where the the obstacles are placed and it was working with the same settings before the update… I have also tried to change the walkable radius to higher and lower values but the problem still occurs…

prime
    Keymaster

checking on it…

prime
    Keymaster