News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting Keep looking for target for a while after losing him from view

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Sigil 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

LudwigVanKinder
    Participant

Hi! You’ll see, i hope you can help me. I’m pretty new to coding & behaviour trees, so i’m having a hard time trying to fix this…
    I have an IA and a First Person Character controler, the behaviour i wan’t is that the IA should patrol & when he sees the player, go after him while he can see him, this works ok, problem is that when he’s out of his vision range & line of sight he goes inmediatly back to the patrol, this is an specially noisy thing since there are tons of narrow corners, props & stuff that causes this issue to be very frequent. This is my Behaviour Tree, which is not working:

beforehand, thanks!:b

Sigil
    Keymaster

Let’s reorganize your tree a little to get this to work right, and then I’ll add the bit to record the last position of the AI. For my purposes I may be using different variable names, but you can switch them around:

root
        sequencer
            parallel (succeed: any, failure: any, tie breaker: succeed)
                detect (repeat until success, aspect: "player", form variable: playerTarget)
                waypoint patrol (waypoint route: "Waypoint Route", move target variable: patrolTarget)
                    move (move target: patrolTarget)
                detect (repeat until failure, aspect: "player", form variable: playerTarget)
                move (move target: playerTarget)
                custom action (InstantiateSound)

So this should pretty much be what your current tree was doing (minus a few things I see in it that look like you were testing something): patrolling while looking for the player, then chasing the player unless they can’t see them anymore.