News Forums Troubleshooting Help: Following then attacking when close enough

This topic contains 20 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  prime 9 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author

morsavita
    Participant

Hello sorry I am new to rain and unity and am enjoying using both but am really stuck and could use some help. I got the basics working and have the lizard wandering then following way-points until he sees the player, and then he will take off following the player while the enemy has line of sight… check working great using mecanim. Now I am trying to implement just a little more functionality and having major problems. I would like to make it so the lizard enemy chases the player around until he gets within range then change mecanim state to attack and speed back to 0. So I don’t have to time out attacks I am testing with a basic dance anim upon melee radius detection. I have 2 sensor both visual applied to the lizard and looking for the same aspect of player. The problem seems to be with the nested detector it gets to it but does not seems to find the constraints after Both of the detects are set on repeat forever. It seems to successfully drop down into the meleeDetect and the variable appears in the memory as null but it does not drop into the dance == null constraint. Oddly enough if I change the melee detector to repeat until success the lizard will quit patrolling while I am out of melee range not finding the dance null constraint but when I enter the meleeSensor Range he does sense it and begins to dance. But when it is on repeat forever the enemy never detects when the player enters melee range. Thank you for anyone’s help into this matter it should just be something simple I am over looking.

morsavita
    Participant

Whoops

OpposableJames
    Participant