News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting hello! is this thing on

This topic contains 12 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  prime 4 weeks, 1 day ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

tawdry
    Participant

Well my 5th post now still no replies to any post iv written so there’s that. I just want to know how to unassign the ai from a character during runtime and assign ai to a charactger during runtime

RyanMitchellGames
    Participant

I am EXTREMELY new to RAIN and attempting to do the same thing. My thought although it maybe wrong is to have a prefab that is just the game object with the pre-frab rig on it (the thing that create ai creates on a game object as a child) then at run-time instantiate it and add it as a child. Then set the body as the parent you parented it to…

I could be wrong.

RyanMitchellGames
    Participant

BTW I am not all the way done but it is working.. you have to reattach a few things back to the main body I have found like mount points etc… we shall see if it works…

RyanMitchellGames
    Participant

Here is a snippet that does it for me….

GameObject goBase = Instantiate (Resources.Load("Library/AI/AITest") ) as GameObject;
    if (goBase != null) 
    {
    	goBase.transform.parent = newAvatar.transform; 
    	AIRig aiRigComp = goBase.GetComponentInChildren<AIRig>();
    	if(aiRigComp != null)
    	{
    		aiRigComp.AI.Body = newAvatar;
    		IList<RAIN.Perception.Sensors.RAINSensor> sensesCopyFrom = aiRigComp.AI.Senses.Sensors;
    		for(int i=0;i<sensesCopyFrom.Count;++i)
    		{
    						if(sensesCopyFrom[i].MountPoint != null)
    	                {
    			    sensesCopyFrom[i].MountPoint = newAvatar.transform;
    						}
    						else
    						{
    			    Debug.Log("goAIGuide is null in AIMGR");
    						}
    		}
    	}
    	else
    	{
    	   Debug.Log("aiRigComp == null in AIMGR");
            }
    }
    else
    {
    	Debug.Log("goBase == null in AIMGR");
    }