News Forums Troubleshooting Get the parent of a AIRig in a script

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  CodersExpo 2 weeks, 5 days ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

bRAIN
    Participant

Hello,

I’m new to UNITY and therefore RAIN.
    I have a problem: I have a EmptyObject in which I have a model(3D) and AI (AIRig) in his Behavior Tree I use a script in C # (custom action).
    When I edit my script I do not have the opportunity to make an instantiation (like this): (Transform bullet = Instantiate (bomb, pos, transform.rotation) as Transform;).
    I can not either change the properties of the transform relative (of first EmptyObject).

How can I fix this?

Best regards

• This topic was modified 3 weeks, 5 days ago by  bRAIN.

CodersExpo
    Participant

Not sure what you’re after but based on the title “get parent of AIRig in script” try this…

var rig = GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag("PlayerAIRig").GetComponent<RAIN.Core.AIRig>();
    Debug.Log(GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag("PlayerAIRig").transform.name);
    Debug.Log(rig.transform.parent.name);

Be sure to add a tag to the players’ RAIN AI as PlayerAIRig. This is the transform with the AIRig component.

• This reply was modified 3 weeks, 5 days ago by  CodersExpo.

bRAIN
    Participant

Thank you for the quick reply.

More details about the problem:
    So I have a EmptyObject (named “Enemy”) that contains other objects, a 3D model, and a AI.
    In the Behavior Tree AI, I add a custom action that results in a C # script.
    In this script I would like to retrieve the position and rotation of the parent object (the one named “Enemy”) in order to instantiate another object (relative to my position).
    NB: The “Enemy” parent and his son have the tag “Character”

I’ll try what you tell me, and will edit this message depending on the result.

[EDIT] That did not work.