News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting Convert RAIN.Motion.MoveLookTarget to Vector?

This topic contains 18 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  ninjapps 3 weeks, 4 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author

ninjapps
    Participant

Hi, I am new to RAIN and love it so far.

I have a little situation where I want to grab the current waypoint “nextStop” as vector3 of a guard which is patrolling over a simple WaypointPath. Long story short I build a script for the main char to go over certain areas which are quite high and where the AI has to follow so I am rebuilding the movement and pathfinder my self and fill in the gaps in the AI tree with custom movement actions rather than the standard move node.

Anyways so i tried getting RAIN.Motion.MoveLookTarget to Vector 3 so I use it in my C# script and I tried various ways such as the one below but either I get a Null or vector 0,0,0

ai.WorkingMemory.GetItem<RAIN.Motion.MoveLookTarget> ("nextStop").transform;

To my understanding RAIN.Motion.MoveLookTarget does not return a Vector 3 but under value in the memory there is Vector Target which not sure if it can be translated to actual world vector coordinates.

Thanks in advance

• This topic was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by  ninjapps.

prime
    Keymaster

To convert a MoveLookTarget to Vector3, simply use the Position property.

MoveLookTarget tTarget = MoveLookTarget.GetTargetFromVariable(ai.WorkingMemory, "nextStop");
    Vector3 tPosition = tTarget.Position;

ninjapps
    Participant

Thanks Prime, I always say the best assets are the ones with good support :)

Cheers

• This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by  ninjapps.

ninjapps
    Participant

Hi Prime,

I was looking in the forum and noticed that someone already implemented something similar of what I am trying to do.

http://rivaltheory.com/forums/topic/custom-navigator-for-a-pathfinding-project/