News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting New to RAIN with basic questions

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Makarios 1 year, 8 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Makarios
    Participant

Greetings RAIN community

I’m a unity hobbyist, I’ve made several small 2d projects for my kids and have played around pretty extensively with 3d games, I’ve made basic FPS and action-rpg style working models. Previously I’ve done all coding myself, I’ve never used a Pathing / AI / or UI product because I wanted to learn and have atleast a basic understanding of the full process.

However, recently I’ve began to really get into a game idea I had for a tactical squad based game, and I’ve decided to try out some of the Pathing / AI / UI products, beginning with RAIN. It has come highly recommended and has been used in a couple games I’ve enjoyed. I have a few very basic questions though after watching a few tutorials and reading though some guides, that I’d like to have answered before I begin using it so I know what to expect.

1. In all the tutorials and guides I’ve found, everything is about npc’s, which makes sense cause that’s the bulk of its worth, but obviously the navmesh pathing and all of those features are integrated and work well, is it bad practice or something to rig the PC’s with RAIN to utilize the same pathing and detection behaivoirs? It seems like it should be used universal but the complete lack of reference to any PC type action in the guides and tutorials just made me begin to second guess it and think maybe its bad practice… the project I’m working on would be point and click movement, I would at a glance assume I’d turn the click on terrain into a waypoint creation for the PC, would that be correct?