News Forums RAIN Sample Projects, How To, and Code Integrating with scripts

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  prime 1 year, 8 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

cdillard
    Participant

Hello all. I am a brand new newbie to the forums and to using RAIN.

I understand that the update to RAIN 2.0(other numbers here) has implemented quite a few changes. I have been watching videos and reading and experimenting for a week or so now and I think I’m just screwing something very simple up.

I just want to figure out how to use variables from scripts inside of RAIN for decisions (for example, as a constraint in a behavior tree), how to alter variables inside a script from RAIN, how to alter variables inside RAIN from script, etc. In essence, how to incorporate my C# code inside of RAIN. I have seen tutorials on the matter, obviously, but I just can’t seem to sift through the RAIN Indie VS Rain 2.0 differences enough to figure out how to do something seemingly so simple.

Can anyone point me in the direction of some tutorials on this matter? I would greatly appreciate any guidance on the matter. Thank you for your time.

CodersExpo
    Participant

Basically, you use the AI memory for managing variable data. You can use ai.WorkingMemory.SetItem or ai.WorkingMemory.GetItem to set variable values or get the variables value respectively. Please check out the wiki on memory at http://rivaltheory.com/wiki/doku.php?id=ai:memory:start to get you started. Hope this helps but please let me know if anything is unclear.

cdillard
    Participant

Ah, Chuck / CodersExpo! I have been watching your videos over and over for a couple days now. You are a good teacher, dude.

Thanks for the redirect. I will endeavor to check that out and do some testing. Thank you for the prompt response.

• This reply was modified 2 years ago by  cdillard.

CodersExpo
    Participant