News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting Behavior Tree - problem with basics

Tagged: 

This topic contains 9 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  prime 11 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Olin
    Participant

Hi,

I’m new to RAIN with some programming experience. I am really excited about RAIN but am really struggling to make it work sometimes. I have followed all four tutorials from CodersExpo and gone through the sample project which can be downloaded from the RAIN Tutorial section. I am definitely missing something but have wasted 3 days already trying to make the below bahavior tree work.

Now. For starters the problem that I have is I can’t get RAIN working with basic behaviors like timers for example. Yes…

I have a scene where the AI gets spawned in the corridor then it is heading to a nav target at the entrance of the hall and then it is heading to capture the flag nav target at the center of the hall. When AI gets there it detects the player and fires at him in rounds.

Here my problems start.

After detecting player the behavior tree of the AI should shoot endlessly at the player in rounds, 5 shots each, 1 second btw each shot and one 3 seconds btw each round. In parallel it is rotating to face the player. The AI behavior tree goes like this.

[BT] AI logic
    *[SEL] selector
    **[CON] AI in the corridor
    ***[PAR] Move and animate in paraller - this is working. When AI gets to the hall set the inTheHall = true.
    **[CON] isInTheHall == true.
    ***[SEQ] sequencer
    ****[PAR] Move and animate to the nav target ‘flag’ at the center of the hall. When AI gets there…
    ****[PAR] paraller
    *****[ANIM] Stop
    *****[DETECT] Detect player. repeat = forever
    *****[SEL] check if aspect visible
    ******[CON] visible.
    *******[B] Behavior tree binding it handles shooting in rounds /* XML of the below at the end of this post */
    ********[PAR] parallel