News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting Issue with aspect size

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Jeyp 6 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Jeyp
    Participant

Hello,

I am a beginner at Rain AI (and Unity in general). I am currently trying to have one of my GameObject detect whether or not there is some ground ahead of it.

The aspect is properly detected when my object is in the middle of the platform (My platform is stored in the groundFound variable):

However, it appears that instead of covering the whole object it is attached to, my aspect only covers about a 1x1x1 Cube, which means that my AI stops detecting the platform long before it should :

Would one of you be able to tell me where my issue is coming from? Here are some screenshot of my AI’s sensors and my platform’s aspect :

AI’s Sensors

Platform’s Entity

Cheers

Sigil
    Keymaster

You haven’t done anything wrong, this is just a limitation of the default sensor/aspect system. All aspects are simply points in space for detection. This was done on purpose to avoid taxing the physics system with full colliders.

So the easy solution is to add more aspects. Obviously this only works so well: large objects will cause problems, multiple aspects are annoying, and the increased aspect count will eventually start to tax the sensor system (not sure what this upper limit is).

The harder solution, but more correct, would be to create a custom sensor that overrides the VisualSensor class, and add colliders to your platform that you can detect:

using RAIN.Entities.Aspects;
    using RAIN.Perception.Sensors;
    using RAIN.Serialization;
    using UnityEngine;
    [RAINSerializableClass]
    public class PhysicsSensor : VisualSensor
    {
        [RAINSerializableField]
        private LayerMask _physicsMask = -1;
        protected override bool TestVisibility(RAINAspect aAspect, float aSqrRange)
        {