News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting How to destroy a character though RAINaction

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  tapticc 2 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

HiddEnigma
    Participant

Hello!

I’m a newbie programmer, and I’m testing RAIN to see how far I can go by myself. I’m making a behavior tree where, when a character’s health reaches 0, it is destroyed. I can only see that working through a custom action.

Problem is, I don’t know how to use the Destroy() function within that custom action script. How would I go about destroying a character using that custom action script?

Thank you in advance.

• This topic was modified 2 years, 7 months ago by  HiddEnigma.

HiddEnigma
    Participant

Nevermind, I managed to make the behavior tree destroy the game object using

MonoBehaviour.Destroy (ai.Body);

But no matter where I put that in my custom action — Start, Execute OR Stop — the game always initializes with the gameObject already missing.

In my behavior tree, I have a Selector with a constraint ( health > 0 ) that animates the character’s movement, and outside of the constraint, the custom action.

So kinda like Selector - > constraint - > animates if health > 0
    - > else destroys.

Any thoughts on what I’m doing wrong?

• This reply was modified 2 years, 7 months ago by  HiddEnigma.

CodersExpo
    Participant

Good job working it out. Make sure you add that statement in a condition within the custom action.

if(ai.WorkingMemory.GetItem<float>(“health”) <= 0)
    {
    MonoBehaviour.Destroy(ai.Body);
    }

Destroy, as you know, is a MonoBehavior. I personally like keeping Unity scripts and logic separate. Just a preference. Another way to do this is create a mono script attached to your guy that has a method in it to destroy him. You can use send message to execute the method.

//From RAIN custom action script