News Forums RAIN General Discussion and Troubleshooting A newbie needs help

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  prime 3 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

EnslavedEagle
    Participant

Hello,

After a long night of struggling with creating a custom action for my objects in Unity, I decided to write my problems here.
    I’m a total newbie to not only RAIN, but also Unity; I’ve tried learning stuff from tutorials here and there, but never with a good results. Recently I decided to have some alone time with Unity and effects are better than with tutorials honestly. I’m on my third day with Unity today.

However, I downloaded RAIN to try it and it’s amazing! I love your AI system and I believe only you can solve the problems I’m stuck with.

Look, I’m not a total noob with programming, I’ve been programming in PHP, Javascript and Java for a while now, so learning scripting in Unity doesn’t give me much trouble. I just don’t get some things:
    I ha
    I have a cannon that is supposed to turn around it’s own Y axis. If I understood it correctly, in RAIN{Indie} you made an Agent instance and have it move and rotate the object in the game. In new RAIN version, it’s been replaced with ai.Body, so I have a following code:

import UnityEngine;
    import System.Collections;
    import System.Collections.Generic;
    import RAIN.Core;
    import RAIN.Action;
    @RAINAction
    class seekingOut extends RAIN.Action.RAINAction
    {
    	function seekingOut()
    	{
    		actionName = "seekingOut";
    	}
    	function Start(ai:AI):void
    	{
    	}
    	function Execute(ai:AI):ActionResult
    	{
                    /* This is where the cannon is - I think - supposed to be rotating */
    		ai.Body.transform.Rotate(Vector3.up * 2 * Time.deltaTime);
    		Debug.Log(Vector3.up + " | " + Time.deltaTime + " | " + ai.Body.transform.rotation);
            return ActionResult.SUCCESS;
    	}